THAMES VALLEY DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

SPECIAL BOARD MEERING

2019 December 2, 7:00 P.M. **BOARD ROOM, EDUCATION CENTRE**

The Board met in special session on 2019 December 2 in the Board Room at the Education Centre, meeting in public session at 7:00 p.m. The following were in attendance:

TRUSTEES

ADMINISTRATION AND OTHERS

- J. Bennett S. Hunt
- B. Yeoman M. Ruddock C. Antone (by phone) B. Smith L. Pizzolato

C. Rahman

P. Cuddy S. Chun

L. Nicholls S. Builder B. Williams M. Moynihan S. Powell P. Sydor P. Skinner L. Griffith-Jones

M. Fisher

S. Smith D. Macpherson R. Culhane J. Pratt C. Lynd K. Edgar A. Canham R. Kuiper K. Wilkinson

Regrets: B. McKinnon Student Trustees: E. Butler, C. Kennedy

1. CALL TO ORDER

Director Fisher called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and acknowledged the traditional territory on which the Board meeting is held.

2. O CANADA

The meeting was opened with the playing of O Canada.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved on motion of Trustee Rahman, seconded by Trustee Cuddy.

4. CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

No conflicts of interest were declared.

5. ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR 2020

a. Election of Chair of the Board for 2020

Director Fisher presided over the election of the 2020 Chair of the Board and called for nominations.

A motion to close nominations was moved by Trustee Skinner seconded by Trustee Yeoman and CARRIED.

Trustees Cuddy, Morell and Rahman were nominated. Trustees Morell and Cuddy declared their acceptance of the nominations. The nominees spoke to their nominations in random order. Following a secret ballot, Trustee Morell was elected to the office of the Chair of the Board.

A motion to destroy the record of the election of Chair was moved by Trustee Hunt, seconded by Trustee Bennett and CARRIED.

b. Election of Vice-Chair of the Board for 2020

Chair Morell called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board for 2020.

A motion to close nominations was moved by Trustee Yeoman, seconded by Trustee Smith and CARRIED.

S. Polhill

Trustees Rahman, Pizzolato, Ruddock, Cuddy, McKinnon and Smith were nominated. Trustees McKinnon, Rahman, Bennett and Cuddy declared their acceptance of the nominations. The nominees spoke to their nominations in random order. Following two secret ballots, a draw of the dice was conducted and Trustee Ruddock was elected Vice-Chair of the Board for 2020.

A motion to destroy the record for the election of Vice-Chair was moved by Trustee Pizzolato, seconded by Trustee Hunt and CARRIED.

6. ELECTION OF ADVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRS

a. Election of Program and School Services Advisory Committee Chair for 2020

Chair Morell called for nominations for the position of Program and School Services Advisory Committee Chair for 2020.

A motion to close nominations was moved by Trustee Cuddy, seconded by Trustee Hunt and CARRIED.

Trustees Skinner, Pizzolato, Polhill and Yeoman were nominated. Trustees Skinner and Yeoman declared their acceptance of the nominations. Trustees Yeoman and Skinner spoke to their nominations. Trustee Yeoman was elected to the office of the Chair of the Program and School Services Advisory Committee.

A motion to destroy the record for the election of Chair of the Program and School Services Advisory Committee was moved by Trustee Pizzolato, seconded by Trustee Hunt and CARRIED.

b. Election of Planning and Priorities Advisory Committee Chair for 2020

Chair Morell called for nominations for the position of Planning and Priorities Advisory Committee Chair for 2020.

A motion to close nominations was moved by Trustee Cuddy, seconded by Trustee Yeoman and CARRIED.

Trustees Skinner, Smith, Cuddy, Polhill and Rahman were nominated. Trustees Skinner and Rahman declared their acceptance of the nominations. The nominees spoke to their nominations in random order. Trustee Rahman was elected to the office of the Chair of Planning and Priorities Advisory Committee Chair.

A motion to destroy the record for the election of the Chair of the Planning and Priorities Advisory Committee was moved by Trustee Pizzolato, seconded by Trustee Yeoman and CARRIED.

7. OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

Chair Morell presented the report to appoint by name the Officers of the Board who shall be the Director of Education, and the Board Treasurer, both of whom, along with the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board, shall have signing authority on behalf of the Board for the period 2019 December 01 to 2020 November 30, in accordance with Board Bylaws-Election of Chair and Vice-Chair, section 6.9.

The following recommendation was moved by Trustee Hunt, seconded by Trustee Bennett and CARRIED:

That the following persons be appointed signing officers on behalf of the Board for the period 2019 December 01 to 2020 November 30:

Arlene Morell, Chair of the Board Meagan Ruddock, Vice-Chair of the Board

The following recommendation was moved by Trustee Yeoman, seconded by Trustee Hunt and CARRIED:

That the following persons be appointed signing officers on behalf of the Board for the period 2019 December 01 to 2020 November 30:

Mark Fisher, Director of Education and Secretary Jeff Pratt, Associate Director and Treasurer

8. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 7:56 p.m. on motion of Trustee Yeoman seconded by Trustee Rahman and CARRIED.

Confirmed:

Arlene Morell Chairperson

SUMMARY OF APPROVED RECOMMENDATIONS OF 2019 DECEMBER 2:

That the following persons be appointed signing officers on behalf of the Board for the period 2019 December 01 to 2020 November 30:

Arlene Morell, Chair of the Board Meagan Ruddock, Vice-Chair of the Board Mark Fisher, Director of Education and Secretary Jeff Pratt, Associate Director and Treasurer